To Smoke or Not to Smoke? That is the Question By Leigh

One of the first things I do in the morning is smoke a bowl. I prefer some good sativa to cup of coffee any day. Some feel that cannabis can be counterproductive, making you lazy. For me, it helps to get my creative juices flowing. Moms know, balancing home and social life while working full time is nearly impossible but we do it daily. Luckily for me, I work for a company that is 420 friendly. It changes the boss-employee dynamic when you can step outside with your boss for a nice smoke break without the typical repercussions.

Unfortunately, not all my friends are as 420 friendly as my boss and CAN’T STAND that I smoke. Recently my bff brought up the idea of me quitting, even though I smoke to support my mental and physical wellbeing. She is from Indiana, where cannabis is still considered to be a drug by majority of the population. My inner hippy immediately screamed “CHILL MAN!” when I heard the words “It makes me sad that you do drugs” cross her lips. She was kidding but I know some part inside of her felt that way.


On top of that, I have one parent that loves cannabis just as much as I do while the other thinks it’s disgusting. My dad aka my bestie, is a huge weed head…like old school, strictly joints kind of guy. He’s smoked my entire life. That’s probably why he could tolerate me through puberty, high school, and college, even when it didn’t go as well as expected (Thanks Dad!). My mother on the other hand is a stickler, who doesn’t really like anything that makes me happy. She used to be the cool mom that would jam to ‘I Get Around’ by Tupac when I was a kid. The mom that would dance so hard in the car it felt like we were at the epicenter of an earthquake that only we could feel. But I guess life and age sucks your soul out because that was the past, for sure! Anyways, it sucks to go to see your parents and there’s a constant tension about the forbidden grass. One mention will change a great evening to hell on earth.


Sometimes I feel like I’m torn between the people that I love and the plant that I love. I don’t see me making a lifestyle change soon but DAMN GINA! It would be way easier to slow down without the excess mental stress. With the change from strictly medicinal to recreational coming very soon in California, Cannabis is becoming widely accepted. Making it easier for Cannamommy’s like myself and Jenna to share our everyday lives, proving that you can be productive while high.

Please share your thoughts in the comments. Try to keep it positive but be honest. Tell us about your experiences in other states. We’d love to hear from our fans. #its420somewhere on Instagram! Tell your friends about us! Spread the movement!


                                                       Leigh



Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑